The Creative Teacher Project

An NQT Bringing Creativity to the Classroom

A New Way to Think About Dance

Leave a comment

I am a qualified dance teacher, but it’s not something I talk about a lot, because to be honest my confidence in my dance skills is at an all time low. I haven’t danced properly for a long time, and it’s easy to feel as though the world of dance has moved on so far that it’s impossible to catch up.

I have, however, recently been going to several productions of the Royal Ballet in London, and have been incredibly privileged to see Woolf Works, which was made up of three dance pieces inspired by the works of Virginia Woolf. It was truly wonderful.

The choreographer was Wayne McGregor, who I am coming to realise is one of the greats of choreography. I was delighted to discover this TED Talk by him recently.

What do you think? Do you teach dance? Is this the kind of approach you go for? It’s got my brain thinking about dance in ways it hasn’t done for years, and, dare I say it, I’m a bit excited!

Let me know what you think below!

