The Creative Teacher Project

An NQT Bringing Creativity to the Classroom

My Final Prac: Week 2

3 Comments

Goodbye Year 12

Flower Day

Week 2 flew by barely giving me a chance to register it had been and gone. It’s that time of the school year in Australia, where the year 12s (equivalent to sixth form) are leaving school, with some study time before they sit their leaving exams.

This week I enjoyed

Getting to know the students a little better. I’ve mastered the names of most of my classes, which is a boon, and makes giving production notes a lot easier! My face has obviously become a lot more familiar to them as well, as I’ve been invited to sit with some girls for a chat, which has made me feel quite cool. I know as a teacher you are supposed to rise above the school politics, but I guess it doesn’t matter how old you are, it’s nice to be liked, and nice to have people to talk to! The upper school girls also went on an excursion this week, so I joined them and then helped them workshop some Variety Night scenes. It was so much fun! Teenagers, believe it or not, are often quite delightful.

This week challenged me because

It was the week of my first meeting with my university supervisor, and the key with meeting your US is be so prepared that through the strategic thrusting of documents into their face you confuse them into thinking you’re amazing. It’s quite simple, once you master the paper thrusting technique…but honestly, meeting someone who will assess you is very intimidating, and because I’m not teaching yet I almost feel as though I don’t know what to show her. I haven’t yet come totally to grips with what I’ll be sharing with my classes (particularly my year 10s) and so I feel a little apprehensive about the whole situation. I think that’s normal though…I’m pretty sure that’s normal….

Something I found interesting totally bloomin’ lovely

My placement school is big on traditions, not particularly in an ‘establishment’ sort of way, but more in the vein of ritual. This week, being the last week for year 12 was full of commemorative assemblies, meetings and lunches, and most touchingly, Flower day. On Flower day, parents and the younger students bring in flowers for the year 12 students that they know, or whom to they look up to, as a thank you for their time at school. It was a touching gathering, where I had to look away for a few moments, because *ahem* I Had Something In My Eye. I don’t even know the year 12s at all, but there I was, trying my best not to blub. I remember that time of my life so well. It’s scary, sad and terribly exciting.

There was also an assembly to announce the student council for next year, where the graduating council welcomed the new members onstage, and dressed them in their new council blazers. It can seem stupid, sentimental and silly sometimes, but I could clearly see how much these traditions meant to the girls, and how much they contribute to the atmosphere in the school. It has been a truly lovely week.

 

3 thoughts on “My Final Prac: Week 2

  1. Congratulations on making it through week 2! I completely understand liking when the students like you. You’re right, as an authority figure, you should avoid the politics of students, but how can you not feel a little jealousy when the cool kids talk to other teachers and not you?! 😉 I have/had that as well. And I’m finding that the more time I spend in the school and teaching students, the more they can get to know me. At times, I do have to remind myself, though, that I am here to teach them and not be friends with them all. It seems that some of the most special relationships that I am developing with students come from those difficult students who now respect me for the boundaries I have established.

    As for what to teach, my suggestion is as follows- find schemes of work or curriculum maps and make a plan as to what you THINK you may want to teach. Do it before you are actually expected to teach. I did not do this and I now feel like I am playing catch up every day in my planning (this half term break will be spent planning the next half term, if not spring term as well so that I have someone to refer to). Be assured that whatever plan you come up with will need to be modified or maybe even changed completely once you are actually instructing and assessing student progress, but the comfort you will have knowing that you have a plan (however inaccurate it may be) will be invaluable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great points! I remember what it was like to be a teenagers, and so definitely do NOT want to get involved in any of their day to day politics, in fact it’s vital for me to stay out if I want to maintain some authority, I think. I’m definitely not the kind of teacher that goes around shouting at kids or trying to dominate them, so I really enjoy building positive relationships, but definitely at arms length. No Facebook friends here, that’s for sure 🙂

      In terms of planning, I get assessed on my schema of work, so I already have developed those, which is a real relief. What I’m feeling a bit uncertain about is actually implementing it – I’m a little anxious about how it’s going to go down with my Year 10s (15 year olds), and whether they’ll think it’s stupid and not want to participate. I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

      Like

      • Try to go into it with a positive attitude, though I completely understand your concerns and I’m not saying don’t have them. Start out confident. Don’t let the girls know youre unsure. If you begin by TELLING them this will be fun, they’ll start to look for the fun in the lesson.

        In maths it can be much more difficult to incorporate activities or lessons where they are moving about. I did a lesson with my year 10s (set 8 of 9) that was probably meant for KS3 (or maybe even the top end of KS2 *eek!*) on area and perimeter that involved tearing paper and making large shapes on the ground. Rather childish, i know, but they loved it and were able to appreciate the concepts that we were discussing which made it easier to connect it to higer level material later.

        I’m sure you’ll be wonderful. Good luck!

        Like

Let me know what you think below!

