The Creative Teacher Project

An NQT Bringing Creativity to the Classroom

I HEART THEATRE

Leave a comment

Something I am finding hugely rewarding about getting into drama teaching is that I have an opportunity just waiting to be seized to get back into reading plays. The year 11s at my host school have been reading Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett as they begin to look at Absurdism. I adore this play – I think it’s hilarious, moving and poignant. My sister, on the other hand, loathed the play when she studied it in High School, and couldn’t hear the word “Godot” without it sending a shiver down her spine.

I heard that Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart were in a production of WFG last year, but it’s only now that I am beginning to realise what I’ve missed out on by not going to see them! I found the following taster clip on YouTube:

I DIE.

Let me know what you think below!

